What to Read?

I’ve always loved reading, the problem was I never knew what to read. Usually only read books made into movies when the movie trailer caught my eye, or I would read authors I knew I liked. Nicolas Sparks, Frank Peretti, the problem was there was only so many to read by these authors.

With the digital age, finding something to read is so easy I think if I never added another book to my to-be-read list I could be reading the rest of my life.

So where do I find what to read?

Goodreads- This is probably the most obvious, but I still find people that don’t have a Goodreads account and never heard of it. If you don’t know what it is, it’s a site where you add books you’ve read and rate them with a 1-5 star rating system and Goodreads will suggest books to you. If you have friends on there you can look at what books they loved as well.
Library- of course, my library always has a display for the book of the month and has extra copies of it in in any format you’d prefer. Also ask your librarian what books they enjoy.

Amazon- If you have an Amazon account, and have bought books on there, they will periodically send emails out with books that are similar to ones you’ve purchased. You can also browse books you enjoyed, when you’re on the order page there is a bar mid-screen that has books that others have looked at who were interested in this book.

Movies-If you aren’t an avid reader chances are you haven’t read every book-made-into movie coming out in theaters. If you see a movie trailer coming out, do what I used to and grab the book, you may have to wait for it if you get it from the library, but it is always nice to read the book before watching the movie. The Fault in Our Stars was actually the first book-to-movie I read before I knew it was going to be a movie.

Image

 

 

Friends- ask your friends what books they enjoyed. Most people are excited to share something they enjoyed with others.

Blogs-there are numerous blogs out there devoted solely to books you can always find something new in any genre you enjoy. You can find lists of books and reviews are numerous.

Booktube- This is the one I’m guessing you may not have heard of. Booktube is a community on youtube of several channels who posts include, their to-be-read list, book hauls (books they recently acquired), and book reviews and some post different challenges that are also fun to watch. Like guess the book by the first line. This is a good way to discover newly published books as publishers send most booktubers free copies for reviews before they are even available in stores.

How do you find new things to read?

Leave a Reply

